top of page
Hawkeye

About Me

I have grown up with horses around me and always knew I would end up pursuing a career within the equine industry. In 2014 I started a course at Writtle College before going on to study for a BSc (Hons) at The Royal Agricultural University. In 2020 I started my MSc at Hartpury University. 
Amongst getting my qualifications I have worked/volunteered at a wide variety of place including a veterinary hospital, feed company, trail guide in South Africa and Croatia, worked at a variety of competition and livery yards and I also spent time in United States at the Kentucky Sports Medicine and rehabilitation centre in America.
I have owned my own horses and ponies since I was a child, being involved within the Puckeridge Hunt Pony Club, taking part in all the area teams. As I’ve grown older, I left the pony club and became a member of the Saffron Walden and District Riding Club where I have represented the club in dressage, show jumping, eventing, style jumping and combined training at the area qualifiers and national championships. I have done a few seasons of British Eventing. Due to my small size, I have been fortunate to have ridden small ponies from 10hh up to large 18hh horses. I have backed and re-backed a variety of ponies and always enjoy a cheeky character. 
In South Africa we had young to geriatric horses to ride including educating and rehabilitating a few between the trail rides. In Kentucky, the home of US racing and sales a large portion of our patients were unhandled yearling and two-year old Thoroughbreds along with colts, fillies, stallions, mares and weanlings and a range of sport horses.

About Me: About Me

Education

At Writtle College I undertook a Level 3 Extended Diploma in Horse Management which involved all aspects of practical and theoretical horse care/riding.


After completing my course at Writtle, I headed to the Royal Agricultural University where I completed my undergraduate degree in International Equine and Agricultural Business Management. 

Modules included: 

Equine Bio-Veterinary Science, 

Bloodstock Industry, 

Equine Law,

Work Placement (South Africa), 

Equine Research and Ethics, 

Equine Nutrition and Training, 

Equine Developments,

International Equine Industry which included a study tour in Kentucky and Germany/France and involved visiting a wide range of equestrian businesses and riding disciplines/facilities,

Equine Performance Nutrition, 

Advances in Training the Equine Athlete,

Dissertation on the US racing industry. 

Finally, I completed modules in agricultural sciences and business management relating to the rural sector.


Recently I have undertaken a MSc in Equine Sciences at Hartpury University:

Applied Equine Exercise Physiology

Investigating Equestrian Research 

Equine Behaviour and Welfare

Equine Therapies and Rehabilitation

The Research Process

Rider Performance

My thesis was an intervention study using 10 horses walking over 50 walk poles daily for six weeks and the results showed an increase range of movement in the stifle, hock, and fetlock of the hind limbs.

I have recently undertaken a course in Equine Sport and Rehabilitation Massage Therapy gaining my ESMT Certification at Wolds Equine Rehabilitation and Training. 

64245045_2401888346528893_4868170921199796224_n.jpg
About Me: Text
80642992_2814359565281767_2548054807948558336_n.jpg

KESMARC

Below outlines the basic duties whilst on my internship in Kentucky. 

  • Daily administration of medications and supplements

  • Daily monitoring of temperature, appetite, etc

  • Daily examining of horses for heat, soreness, etc

  • General care, including grooming and bathing

  • Applying bandages and other topical treatments

  • Assisting veterinarians, farriers, therapists, etc as needed

Any tasks that may arise in the day-to-day operation of an equine facility

About Me: Text
F7CE2F21-A487-4102-8CFB-54BC5D7B04B4.jpg

Welton Spirit

Welton Spirit (Ace) is an 11 year old 15'3 Sports Horse. I started riding Ace at the beginning of 2020 as his owner Emily was due to have her first baby so was starting to slow down. In May 2020 I took on Ace on full loan and am so thankful to ride a horse as incredible as he is.
We represent our riding club on a regular basis having qualified for the Novice Winter Dressage Championships were we placed second individually and our team are the BRC Novice Winter Dressage Champions 2020! We also qualified for the Summer Championships 2021 in both the prelim dressage and the riding test after winning individually as a team for the dressage and second as a team for the riding test with an individual third place at the Championships we came 10th individually in the Riding Test and 3rd as a team in the Prelim Test. 
In 2022 we have placed 7th at Horseheath BE90 with a double clear, Qualified for BRC Combined Championships and came 3rd individually in the BRC Combined Training championships with the team finishing 2nd. I also jumped double clear at the Combined Challenge Championships with the team coming 3rd as I was a little too speedy! I have qualified for the BRC Style Jumping at the BRC National Championships in September.

About Me: About
277568423_5180254602025573_6391715325157076067_n.jpg

Mochulla Andy

Mochulla Andy (Mac) is a 4 year old 14'2 Connemara pony. I bought Mac in March 2021 unseen from Ireland and it was the best decision. In June 2021, Mac started under saddle and was truly incredible coping with every question I asked. Mac had been on holiday for 6.5 months and is now making the slow progression back to work. Watch this space to see how Mac progresses this year. Mac has had his first few outings in hand and proving to be bold and brave handling the showing ring like a pro. In May 2022, we got our saddle to start re-backing him and he is proving very relaxed and taking it all in his stride.

About Me: About
bottom of page